ITP / ITA Journal Club

* This page refers to Journal Club meetings up to the Winter Semester 2016/17. *

* For subsequent semesters see Joint JC/Tunch *

Tuesday, Phil 12, Room 056

13:00 - 15:00

The ITP/ITA Journal Club is a joint Journal Club from the Cosmology groups of ITA and ITP.

Every two weeks, some recent papers in the literature are presented by our members and afterwards we have a short discussion session.

We use the Heidelberg VoxCharta platform in order to suggest interesting literature and list the papers to be presented in the next meeting.

In VoxCharta you can also find our previously discussed papers.

Here you can access our Google Calendar to check future dates and the name of the speakers.


Journal Club Meetings of the Winter Semester 2016-2017:

28th March 2017:

Collective Journal Club

Caroline Heneka:
heneka@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1703.06918
A high precision semi-analytic mass function

Santiago Casas:
casas@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arxiv:1702.07821
Cosmological renormalization of model parameters in the second-order perturbation theory

Manuel Wittner & Dario Bettoni
wittner@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de bettoni@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1703.07785
Gravitational Wave Oscillations in Bigravity

21st February 2017:

Collective Journal Club

Alessio Spurio Mancini:
spuriomancini@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1702.05301
Precision calculations of the cosmic shear power spectrum projection

Santiago Casas:
casas@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1701.08165
The clustering of galaxies in the completed SDSS-III Baryon Oscillation Spectroscopic Survey: Examining the observational evidence for dynamical dark energy

Ana Marta Pinho:
pinho@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1610.05321
Cosmic Growth and Expansion Conjoined

Henrik Nersisyan:
nersisyan@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1701.00699
On the gravitational nature of energy

07th February 2017:

Margherita Lembo:
lembo@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1701.05750
Persistent Black Holes in Bouncing Cosmologies

Javier Rubio:
rubio@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1610.08297
Ultralight scalars as cosmological dark matter

24th January 2017:

Frank Könnig:
koennig@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1612.06104
Scalar-mediated graviton mass generation in spontaneous scalarized DNS binaries

Manuel Wittner
wittner@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1701.01836
Dealing with ghost-free massive gravity without explicit square roots of matrices

10th January 2017:

Alessio Spurio Mancini
spuriomancini@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1611.04954
The Limits of Cosmic Shear

Nelson Lima
n.lima@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1610.07529
Radial acceleration relation from screening of fifth forces

13th December 2016:

Group meeting

29th November 2016:

Sara Jamali
s.jamali@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1611.06680v1
Reconstructions of the dark-energy equation of state and the inflationary potential

Henrik Nersisyan
h.nersisyan@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1510.01281
Geometrical destabilization of inflation

Valeria Pettorino
pettorin@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de
arXiv:1611.06088
Determining H_0 with Bayesian hyper-parameters





Previous Journal Club meeting: 14th June 2016




Frank Könnig :

arXiv:1606.01887
Ensemble Averaged Gravity Theory koennig@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Ana Marta Pinho:

arXiv:1606.02304
Cold, clumpy accretion onto an active supermassive black hole
pinho@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Bjoern Malte Schäfer:

arXiv:1605.02285
Goodness-of-fit analysis of the Cosmicflows-2 database of velocities
bjoern.malte.schaefer@uni-heidelberg.de


Last Journal Club meeting: 17th May 2016




Adrian Fernandez:

arXiv:1603.08338
Primordial black hole scenario for the gravitational wave event GW150914
fernandez@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Santiago Casas:

arXiv:1503.05920
Matter power spectrum and the challenge of percent accuracy
casas@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Last Journal Club meeting: 8th March 2016




Javier Rubio :

arXiv:1602.06962
Anomalous equivalence of cosmological frames
rubio@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Matteo Martinelli:

arXiv:1511.05962
Searching for scalar gravitational interactions in current and future cosmological data
martinelli@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Tim Tugendhat:

arXiv:1603.01325
The imprint of f(R) gravity on weak gravitational lensing I: Connection between observables and large scale structure
tugendhat@uni-heidelberg.de

And a paper/tunch/talk by


Luca Amendola:

link to paper
The evolving perception of controversial movies
amendola@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Previous Journal Club meeting: 23rd February 2016




Marvin Lüben:
arXiv:1509.05978
Matter coupling in partially constrained vielbein formulation of massive gravity
lueben@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Henrik Nersisyan:
arXiv:1602.04460
Implication of the association between GBM transient 150914 and LIGO Gravitational Wave event GW150914
nersisyan@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Previous Journal Club meeting: 26th January 2016




Alessio Spurio Mancini:
arXiv:1511.08502
How big can a black hole grow?
spuriomancini@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Alberto Bailoni:
arXiv:1512.08352
Constraining higher-order parameters for primordial non-Gaussianities from power spectra and bispectra of imaging survey
bailoni@stud.uni-heidelberg.de

Suttiluk Othatawong:
arXiv:1601.03740
Turnaround overdensity as a cosmological observable: the case for a local measurement of Λ
othatawong@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


List of participants for the new term, sorted by order of participation:


– 26.01.16

spuriomancini@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

bailoni@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

othatawong@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

– 23.02.16

Lueben@stud.uni-heidelberg.de

nersisyan@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

– 08.03.16

tugendhat@uni-heidelberg.de

martinelli@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

rubio@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

– 17.05.16

fernandez@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

casas@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

– 14.06.16

koennig@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

bjoern.malte.schaefer@uni-heidelberg.de

pinho@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

– 12.07.16

fuehrer@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

maturi@uni-heidelberg.de

amendola@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

pettorino@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de





Last Journal Club meeting: 17th November 2015



Luca Amendola:
arXiv:1511.01004
The general form of the coupled Horndeski Lagrangian that allows cosmological scaling solutions

amendola@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Frank Könnig:
arXiv:1508.05569
Geometry of Area Without Length

koennig@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Previous Journal Club meeting: 28th July 2015



Luca Amendola:
arXiv:1507.06723v1
Discovery and Validation of Kepler-452b: A 1.6-Re Super Earth Exoplanet in the Habitable Zone of a G2 Star

amendola@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Suttiluk Othatawong:
arXiv:1506.07934
Spherical Collapse in Modified Gravity Theories

othatawong@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de

Tim Tugendhat:
arXiv:1507.05977
Cross-correlation cosmic shear with the SDSS and VLA FIRST surveys
CANCELED

tugendhat@uni-heidelberg.de

Florian Führer:
arXiv:1507.06665
Large scale structure from viscous dark matter

fuhrer@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Previous Journal Club meeting: 30th June 2015


Yashar Akrami:
arXiv:1506.03047
Phenomenology of dark energy: general features of large-scale perturbations

akrami@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Santiago Casas:
Nature physics
Universal decoherence due to gravitational time dilation

casas@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de




Previous Journal Club meeting: 16th June 2015


Adam Solomon:
arXiv:1412.6098
Einstein Gravity, Massive Gravity, Multi-Gravity and Nonlinear Realizations

a.solomon@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Celia Viermann:
arXiv:1506.02671
Imprint of inflation on galaxy shape correlations

c.viermann@stud.uni-heidelberg.de


Tim Tugendhat:
arXiv:
TBA

tugendhat@.uni-heidelberg.de



Previous Journal Club meeting: 19th May 2015


Robert Lilow:
arXiv:1504.07337
Vlasov versus N-body: the Hénon sphere

lilow@stud.uni-heidelberg.de


Alejandro Guarnizo Trilleras:
arXiv:1505.03656
Effective dark matter power spectra in f(R) gravity

a.guarnizo@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Io Odderskov:
arXiv:1412.5195
Rapid simulation rescaling from standard to modified gravity models
io.odderskov@gmail.com


Previous Journal Club meeting: 28th April 2015


Miguel Zumalacarregui:
arXiv:1504.03677v1
Reconstruction within the Zeldovich approximation

zumalacarregui@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Phillip Umstätter:
arXiv: 1504.02510
Tidal alignment of galaxies

p.umstaetter@stud.uni-heidelberg.de



Previous Journal Club meeting: Wednesday 11th February 2015, 13:00


Planck special edition Members of the Planck collaboration will present the most important results regarding the 2015 Planck Release.
Valeria Pettorino
Matteo Martinelli
Yashar Akrami
and
Bjoern Malte Schäfer

Notice unusual date. Room 106, Phil 12.


Previous Journal Club meeting: 27th January 2015


Matteo Maturi:
arXiv:1501.03828
Weak gravitational lensing with the Square Kilometre Array

maturi@uni-heidelberg.de


Florian Führer:
arXiv: 1410.2612
Feeling De Sitter

fuehrer@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de


Miguel Quartin:
arXiv: 1501.03822
Real time cosmology - A direct measure of the expansion rate of the Universe

mquartin@if.ufrj.br



Previous Journal Club meeting: 25th November 2014


Xuewen Liu: Spacetime Curvature and the Higgs Stability During Inflation., arXiv:1407.3141

x.liu@students.uu.nl

Matteo Martinelli: Cosmological implications of baryon acoustic oscillation (BAO) measurements , arXiv:1411.1074

martinelli@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de



Previous Journal Club meeting: 11th November 2014


Luisa Jaime: Astrophysical Tests of Modified Gravity: Stellar and Gaseous Rotation Curves in Dwarf Galaxies, arXiv:1410.4568

luisa@nucleares.unam.mx

Sven Meyer: TBA, arXiv:

sven.meyer@uni-heidelberg.de

Matthias Bartlemann et al: Non-equilibrium statistical field theory for classical particles, arXiv:1411.0806

bartelmann@uni-heidelberg.de



Previous Journal Club meeting: 28th October 2014

Agnese Fabris: The mass-concentration relation in lensing clusters: the role of statistical biases and selection effects, arXiv:1410.4568

fabris@uni-heidelberg.de

Frank Könnig: Mimetic F(R) gravity: inflation, dark energy and bounce, arXiv:1408.3561

koennig@thphys.uni-heidelberg.de